May 28, 2023
Watch the Naruto Anime in Order

How to Watch the Naruto Anime in Order (Guide)

Naruto is undoubtedly a magnum opus anime series that everyone should watch at least once in their life. It’s an epic tale of a young boy named Naruto, as he battles his way through life’s challenges in an effort to become the next Hokage (village leader).

This anime series is considered to be the epitome of inspiration, motivation, and much more. Moreover, it has helped many people during their darkest times, and as a result, the anime is recommended to everyone by anime fans.

Naruto is an extremely popular anime and includes a large number of episodes, specials, and even movies. So, if you are planning to binge-watch the Naruto series and want to know how to watch the anime in the right order, we have you covered. Continue reading to start your ninja journey and learn about all of Naruto’s story arcs.

To help you watch Naruto in the best possible order, we have put together a comprehensive guide. We have arranged all the major canon arcs in chronological order, including Naruto’s filler arcs, movie releases, and even TV specials. So, let’s get right to it:

Important Note: We have marked the fillers and movies respectively in the table below. However, if you want to watch any entertaining filler episodes or movies, we suggest going through our dedicated guides, including the Naruto filler list, Naruto Shippuden filler list, and all the Naruto Movies in order. You can use them wisely to elevate your fun time.

Naruto (2002-2007) Watching Order

Naruto (2002-2007) Watching Order

First, you have to start with the classic Naruto anime series, which began streaming in 2002 and continued until 2007. Here is the watch order of the original Naruto anime:

Episodes or Arcs Title Episode Numbers Manga Chapters Canon/ Filler/ Movie
Land of Waves Arc 1-19 1-33 Canon
Chūnin Exams Arc 20-67 34-115 Canon
Recap of first 25 episodes 26 Filler
Konoha Crush Arc 68-80 116-138 Canon
Search for Tsunade Arc 81-100 139-171 Canon
Kidnapped! Naruto’s Hot Spring Adventure! 97 Filler
Gotta See! Gotta Know! Kakashi-Sensei’s True Face! 101 Filler
Naruto the Movie: Ninja Clash in the Land of Snow Movie
Land of Tea Escort Mission 102-106 Filler
Sasuke Recovery Mission Arc 107-135 172-238 Canon
Land of Rice Fields Investigation Mission 136-141 Filler
Mizuki Tracking Mission 142-147 Filler
Bikōchū Search Mission 148-151 Filler
Kurosuki Family Removal Mission 152-157 Filler
Follow My Lead! The Great Survival Challenge 158 Filler
Gosunkugi Capture Mission 159,160 Filler
Naruto the Movie 2: Legend of the Stone of Gelel Movie
The Appearance of Strange Visitors 161 Filler
Cursed Warrior Extermination Mission 162-167 Filler
Mix it, Stretch it, and Boil it Up! Burn Copper Pot, Burn! 168 Filler
Kaima Capture Mission 169-173 Filler
Impossible! Celebrity Ninja Art: Money Style Jutsu! 174 Filler
Buried Gold Excavation Mission 175,176 Filler
Please, Mr. Postman! 177 Filler
Star Guard Mission 178-183 Filler
Kiba, Naruto, and Shino One-Off 184-186 Filler
Peddlers Escort Mission 187-191 Filler
Ino, Rock Lee, and Daimyo’s Wife Search Mission One-Off Episodes 192-194 Filler
Third Great Beast Arc 195-196 Filler
Naruto the Movie 3: Guardians of the Crescent Moon Kingdom Movie
Konoha Plans Recapture Mission 197-201 Filler
Recap of the Top 5 Ninja Battles 202 Filler
Yakumo Kurama Rescue Mission 203-207 Filler
The Weight of the Prized Artefact! 208 Filler
Gantetsu Escort Mission 209-212 Filler
Menma Memory Search Mission 213-215 Filler
Sunagakure Support Mission 216-220 Filler
Total Episodes 220

Naruto Shippuden (2007-2017) Watching Order

As we did for the classic Naruto anime above, we have summarized all of the information about Naruto Shippuden (2007-2017) in a table below. Here is the watch order for Naruto Shippuden:

Episodes or Arcs Title Episode Numbers Manga Chapter Numbers Canon/Filler/Movie
Kazekage Rescue Mission Arc 1-32 245-281 Canon
Naruto Shippûden: The Movie Movie
Tenchi Bridge Reconnaissance Mission Arc 33-56 282-310 Canon
Twelve Guardian Ninja Arc 57-71 Filler
Naruto Shippuden: The Movie – Bonds Movie
Akatsuki Suppression Mission 72-89 311-342 Canon
Three-Tails Appearance 90-112 Filler
Itachi Pursuit Mission Arc Part-1 113-118 343-367 Canon
Kakashi Gaiden Arc 119,120 239-244 Canon
Itachi Pursuit Mission Arc Part-2 121-126 343-367 Canon
Naruto Shippûden: The Movie 3: Inheritors of the Will of Fire Movie
Tale of Jiraiya the Gallant Arc 127-133 368-383 Canon
Fated Battle Between Brothers Arc 134-143 384-412 Canon
Naruto Shippûden: The Lost Tower Movie
Pain’s Assault Arc Part-1 152-169 413-453 Canon
The Quest for the Fourth Hokage’s Legacy 170,171 Filler
Pain’s Assault Arc Part-2 172-175 413-453 Canon
Past Arc: Locus of Konoha 176-196 Filler
Naruto Shippuden the Movie: Blood Prison Movie
Five Kage Summit Arc 197-214 454-483 Canon
Fourth Shinobi World War: Countdown Arc Part-1 215-222 484-515 Canon
Paradise Life on a Boat 223-242 Filler
Fourth Shinobi World War: Countdown Arc Part-2 243-256 484-515 Canon
Road to Ninja – Naruto the Movie Movie
Sasuke and Naruto’s Flashbacks 257-260 Filler
Fourth Shinobi World War: Confrontation Part-1 261-270 516-559 Canon
Road to Sakura 271 Filler
Fourth Shinobi World War: Confrontation Part-2 272-278 516-559 Canon
One-off episodes featuring Team Kurenai – Deidara and Konohomaru 279-281 Filler
Killer Bee Episodes 282,283 516-559 Canon
Various One-Off Filler Episodes 284-295 Filler
Fourth Shinobi World War: Confrontation Part-3 296-302 516-559 Canon
Various Filler Episodes 303-320 Filler
Fourth Shinobi World War: Climax Arc Part-1 321-346 560-639 Canon
Yahiko, Konan, and Nagato Flashback 347-348 Filler
Kakashi’s Anbu Arc: The Shinobi That Lives in the Darkness 349-361 Filler
Fourth Shinobi World War: Climax Arc Part-2 362-375 560-639 Canon
Naruto vs Mecha Naruto 376-377 Filler
Birth of the Ten-Tails’ Jinchūriki Part-1 378-388 640-677 Canon
Hinata and Hanabi Childhood 389, 390 Filler
Birth of the Ten-Tails’ Jinchūriki Part-2 391-393 640-677 Canon
The New Chunin Exams 394-413 Filler
Birth of the Ten-Tails’ Jinchūriki Part-3 414-421 640-677 Canon
The Formation of Team Minato 416,417 Filler
Naruto and Konohomaru 422,423 Filler
Birth of the Ten-Tails’ Jinchūriki Part-4 424-431 640-677 Canon
The Infinite Tsukuyomi 432-450 Filler
Itachi Shinden Book: Light and Darkness Arc 451-458 Based on Novel Canon
Kaguya Otsutsuki Strikes Arc 451, 455, 458-468, 470-479 678-699 Canon
A Special Mission 469 Filler
Various One-Off Filler Episodes 480-483 Filler
Sasuke Shinden: Book of Sunrise Arc 484-488 Based on Novel Canon
Shikamaru Hiden: A Cloud Drifting in Silent Darkness Arc 489-493 Based on Novel Canon
The Last: Naruto the Movie  Canon Movie
Konoha Hiden: The Perfect Day for a Wedding Arc 494-500 Based on Novel Canon
Total Episodes 500

That wraps up our guide on how to watch Naruto and that too in the right order. We hope this guide proves to be a north star, guiding you to make the most out of your Naruto binge-watching experience.

Now, you can start streaming Naruto right away and learn about some of the most powerful ninjas in history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *